How to Perform an E&M Chart Audit

Categories: TBD
Wishlist Share
Share Course
Page Link
Share On Social Media

About Course

Format: Live Webinar
Presenter: Jo M. Potts, CPC
Event Date: TBD
Time: 1 pm ET | 12 pm CT | 11 am MT | 10 am PT
Duration: 60 minutes

Conference Materials (Password Required)
This webinar is designed to assist you in understanding the latest guidelines for E&M billing. You will learn the different kinds of E&M audits and what knowledge you will gain from each type. You will also learn about the value of internally performed audits and why externally performed audits can help your practice become for profitable. Coders, auditors, and providers will gain an in-depth analysis of how the new changes will affect E/M levels, and how failing to improve documentation can impact physicians levels of service

Learning Objective:

  • Learn current coding guidelines for E&M billing.
  • Learn what is needed to create a successful provider audit program.
  • Learn how to talk openly and honestly with your providers about coding Requirements.
  • Learn when it is time to bring an outside auditor to assist in education and auditing your practice.

Areas Covered in the Session

  • 2023 E&M documentation guidelines
  • History of E&M coding guidelines
    • 1995, 1997, resent and current Guidelines
  • Internal vs. External Coding Audits
  • An overview Audit vs. a Comprehensive Audit
    • What to expect if you are hiring an external audit
  • Setting up your own internal Coding Audit Program
  • How to educate your providers
  • New & established outpatient office visits
  • Determining areas of risk and opportunities for improvement.
  • How to establish an internal audit program
  • Live Q&A Session

Suggested Attendees

  • Coders
  • Billers
  • Revenue Cycle Managers
  • Chief Financial Directors
  • Providers
  • Auditors
  • Clinic Managers
  • Compliance officers
  • Physician and non physician practitioners
  • Insurance company claims reviewers
  • Practice managers
  • Physicians
  • Hospital and facility administration
  • Healthcare Consultants

About the Presenter

Jo’s career as a healthcare professional and consultant brings more than 40 years experience to coding auditing, revenue cycle and consulting. She understands the struggle to manage ever-changing complex Revenue Cycle compliance requirements. Jo’s diverse experience brings a customer service focus to her operations, billing, coding, compliance and financial related consulting services. Jo has worked with independent solo practice, multi-specialty group practices, large health systems, tribal health, community and critical access-based hospitals, Federally Qualified and Rural Health Clinics, skilled nursing facilities, ISNPs and insurance companies.

Course Content

You can access all the webinar materials after successful payment

  • Course Link
    00:00
Shopping Cart
0